5 Reasons Why I Love To Declutter

,,

It would be fair to say that our home takes a thorough pounding, a combination of six of us, home educating and throw a curious energetic toddler to the mix and the result is….. well yep it’s pretty full on!  It wouldn’t be unusual to find a worm on the kitchen table, an ant farm being cultivated in the (not switched on!) slow cooker, a football in the bath and the ever present trail of raisins on the floor…  As School holidays roll around I am itching to find the floor again, re-organise things and evacuate at least some of the spiders and redundant stuff that has slowly collected.  I honestly don’t mind doing it as the benefits definitely outweigh the effort.

As I type we are currently over half way through our declutter and deep clean just the kitchen, utility room and garage to go….  Ahem – they have been left until last for good reason….  Here is why I love a good old spring clean…..

1) Supporting local charities and library – Its such a good feeling to load the car up with bags of clothes, toys and books and redistribute them.  So far four huge bags of clothes have gone to the Salvation Army and two bags of books donated to our local library.  Incidentally it seems going paperless doesn’t actually mean paperless, I still had a recycle bag full of paperwork to shred – at least the guinea pig was happy!

2) Finding all the missing items – I am pleased to report we have indeed found the missing charger, playmobil person and last puzzle piece, although it is always a mystery how they ended up in the airing cupboard,empty flour packet and bookshelf!  

3) Making some pennies – The eBay/Amazon profits of the few items we list give us a good head start on some new resources, books, clothes.  I don’t try to sell everything we clear out, I just don’t have the stamina for all that listing.

4) Aesthetic Appeal – Everything just feels fresher, lighter, more organised and it’s all quicker and easier to clean – for a while anyway.  Since this is a fairly established pattern for us now it is not too onerous a task.  I do remember the early days and our old playroom (you can read ‘Our Toy Story’ here) could take me days to get through never mind the whole house.

5) Developing good habits – Even my biggies recognise the benefits of a good clear out and they actually don’t moan about doing their bedrooms.  They have complete control of their things and what to keep but are pretty sensible.  I’m proud of them!

If you don’t hear from me next week I’ll perhaps be losing the will to live in the garage – but it will be so worth it!

6 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why I Love To Declutter

  1. I feel your pain! Start small perhaps?? One drawer at a time? I must admit to procrastinating like mad about entering the garage, it has our house ‘overflow’ along with the usual garage stuff. Next weekend it’s all going to happen!….x

    Like

  2. Pingback: Another Perspective on Decluttering From— The Adventures Of 5 plus 1! – Bee Organized with Pamela

Leave a Reply

