A Funny Kind Of Education

imageI treated my self to a new book over the festive period and had to share it with you.  I chose A Funny Kind Of Education by Ross Mountney, I enjoy Ross’s blog so was intrigued and eager to read more about her family’s adventures in Home Educating.  I ordered it via Amazon and it arrived quickly.  I must say I was suprised by its size, I’m not sure why but I didn’t expect it to be so long.  

My how I enjoyed this book, it is a collection of anecdotes detailing the family’s journey into home educating.  I love Ross’s style of writing, it was honest and heartwarming and I could relate to so much, the Christmas dilemma and ‘quality time’ with hubby dilemma along with all those fears that taking on educational responsibility brings.   The book had me giggling one minute and in tears the next, I’m not sure I have read anything else which has taken me through such a spectrum of emotions.  Perhaps it is because I could relate to the issues in the book so personally.  

I devoured the book in no time and yet didn’t want it to end.  I felt so refreshed and rejuvenated having read it,  it came at the right time for me and I feel re-inspired and raring to go again.  I would love to read a follow up since Ross ends the book with her children at the ages my eldest two are now.  I am not a keeper of books I tend to rehome them once read (I even de-cluttered my Marie Kondo book!) however I do have a small shelf that can house about ten books, this book is a keeper for me and will sit on the shelf next to my John Holt books.  Whether new to home educating or an old hand I would really recommend this book, if you are anything like me you’ll want to be her bestie and go for ‘posh  coffees’ too after!  Gosh I think I have a new girl crush lol!!

2 thoughts on “A Funny Kind Of Education

Leave a Reply

