Summer Holidays!

I am so excited……..

No we are not jetting off somewhere exotic but I do get to spring (summer!) clean the house.  I am sure this has many of you recoiling in horror but I love it.  We take a room at a time and go through every drawer, cupboard, nook and cranny decluttering, reorganising and thoroughly cleaning.

We tackle this each School holiday and all the kiddies get involved.  Strange as it may sound they actually really enjoy doing their rooms!

Don’t get me wrong I am not a domestic goddess by any means and during term time we tackle the essentials only.  As time draws on I begin to get a little twitchy as the house begins to call out for a good sort through.

I find the whole process really therapeutic and having six of us in a modest three bed roomed property it is essential that we keep on top of the ‘stuff.’

A couple of books I love are:

Clear your clutter with Feng Shui by Karen Kingston

This book addresses how clearing clutter can transform your life.

The life changing magic of tidying by Marie Kondo

This book has some interesting practical ideas such as rolling your clothes that are kept within drawers, dare I admit that I gain pleasure from an aesthetically pleasing drawer???….  Ok I’ll get my bag…….

Leave a Reply

