Boredom!

bored

It’s that time of year, the long Summer holidays stretch ahead and many parents wonder how to entertain the kiddies.  Guess what???  Boredom is the way to go!

Life doesn’t alter much for us and we plod along in much the same way, having fun, playing and living life and learning from it.  However I was surprised when my trio told me they were bored yesterday.  They are words I don’t get to hear much but I was unperturbed.  I knew that the unspoken translation was actually that they wished their friends who live opposite were around – they had gone away for the weekend and after a few fun filled days my guys were missing them!  I wondered how they would manage their boredom and noticed that it didn’t take too long for inspiration to strike.  Soon enough there were bug hunts, superhero missions, tree climbing, cave man style dirt pictures, stone castles, camp building, pretend fire starting, tennis matches, googling of exercises to help achieve the splits, animated Lego friends creations.  Who needs organised activities???

Leave a Reply

